Tuesday Tuesday Tuesday!

I spent so much time on the phone today that it felt like I was working at a call center.

I got a list of resources from the Senator’s office. There were six agencies listed, all of which are independent organizations with a mental health focus that operate in our state. A few have registered lobbyists, all are volunteer-run and only one is federally mandated.

#1 on the list was a Family Federation. I tried the phone number and it did not work. I called the toll-free number and spoke with a person. They told me of a waiver program that was not accepting applications, nor did it look like it would continue to be an option after the current budget year. They took some information down (the person I spoke with was very nice and trying to help, just limited in the ways she could help). She said they would call some of the agencies I am working with to see if they could help push through additional services, especially home-based. I will anxiously await a call back.

#2 on the list was a mental health association. They basically said to call #4 on the list and could offer me no other suggestions.

#3 on the list was NAMI. NAMI said I’ve done everything that they are aware of that is available.

#4 was an advocacy group. They said they had no other suggestions because I have tried everything available that they are aware of. They do have some parent support groups and upcoming events that they are going to send me information on. They also want me to write a letter outlining Joe’s case so they can use it when they try to lobby for better mental healthcare.

#5 was a center that is no longer in existence.

#6 is a self-help group. I’m waiting on a call back with further information on meetings and events they hold, but that’s all they could offer.

I don’t think the efforts will all for nothing, but I was disappointed in the lack of new information. I was hoping that one of the groups would have something new for me to try.

I was also on the phone with the hospital. I have a family session in the morning, and if all goes well Joe will be coming home with me. I’m awaiting a call from mental health to let me know when his post-hospitalization eval is.

Hopefully Joe will be able to handle the stressors in the real world when he leaves. In acute care, the temptations that cause his impulsiveness to really flare up are absent. In the real world, those temptations are everywhere. I think that’s why hospitalizations don’t help much. They’re great for medication changes and evaluating their effectiveness, but horrible for providing guidance in real-world situations.

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Tuesday Tuesday!

    • I’m interested in how the groups work and I hope that they are of value. If it’s people sitting around complaining about how bad their life sucks constantly, I have no use for it. However, if after the initial venting there’s something productive that comes of it, I’m all for that! I hope they have something for the kids as well. Any chance for more socialization is a positive thing in my book!

Leave a comment